Eight Austin-area teams qualify for State 7-on-7 tournament

AUSTIN (FanstandATX) – Eight Austin-area teams are headed to the Texas State 7-on-7 tournament in College Station.

Hutto, Westwood, Cedar Park, Del Valle, Cedar Ridge, Georgetown, East View, and Lake Travis all qualified for a spot in the state tournament – eight out of 64 competing in the annual event, which runs June 29-July 1.

7-on-7 is a non-contact version of football with a heavy emphasis on pass offense/defense, played on just one half of a regulation football field. Many teams use it as a tune-up and opportunity to develop their skills ahead of summer workouts and the beginning of the regular season in late August.

In order to make it to the state tournament, teams compete in one or more State Qualifying Tournaments (SQTs), which have been taking place since late May. The tournament is set up in two divisions – one with 5A and 6A teams (and their private school equivalents), and a second division with smaller schools.

For some teams, the trip to the state tournament is an annual tradition. Lake Travis has qualified every year since 2004, making this their 14th straight appearance. The Cavaliers last won the tournament title in 2010.

2016’s champ, The Woodlands, will begin play in the same pool as Westwood.

Pool play begins Friday afternoon at 1:00 p.m.; teams then advance to bracket play on Saturday based on their results. The championship game is tentatively set for 4:00 p.m. Saturday afternoon. All of the games take place at Veterans Park in College Station.

Here are the assigned pools for all 64 teams participating in Division I:

Pool A: Clear Brook, Coppell, Lake Travis, McAllen Rowe
Pool B: Cinco Ranch, Haslet Eaton, Georgetown, Lufkin
Pool C: Fort Worth All Saints, Cedar Ridge, Corsicana, Cy Ranch
Pool D: Del Valle, Mercedes, Montgomery, Mansfield Timberview
Pool E: Hutto, Arlington Lamar, Manvel, San Antonio O’Connor
Pool F: El Paso Eastlake, Katy, Plano, Mesquite Poteet
Pool G: Abilene Cooper, Plano Prestonwood, Houston St. Pius X, Beaumont Westbrook
Pool H: San Angelo Central, Houston Lamar, Marshall, Dallas Wilson
Pool I: Lubbock Coronado, DeSoto, Longview, Pearland
Pool J: Abilene, Dickinson, Mission Pioneer, The Colony
Pool K: East View, Hebron, Klein, West Mesquite
Pool L: El Paso Coronado, Richmond Foster, Laredo United, Frisco Wakeland
Pool M: College Station, Cy Fair, Waxahachie, Weslaco
Pool N: Birdville, Cedar Park, Cy Creek, Jacksonville
Pool O: Arlington, The Woodlands, Westwood, Whitehouse
Pool P: A&M Consolidated, Fort Bend Bush, Edinburg North, Lovejoy

FanstandATX will have complete coverage of our Austin-area teams in the tournament. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook for live coverage throuhgout the weekend, and look for continuing coverage on www.FanstandATX.com.