OFFICIAL: 2019 Boys’ Basketball All District 25-5A Selections

(UPDATED: 3:05 P.M. 3/1/19) The head coaches of District 25-5A put their collective thoughts together, forming this year’s official All District lists. Congratulations to all that were honored – and a nod of respect to those who feel slighted.

OVERALL MVP: Jordan Teal (’20), LBJ

If there was a Most Improved Player of the Year Award, Teal would win that too. Raising his average a full 14 points from sophomore to junior season, Teal was among the area’s leading scorers at nearly 19 a game. His tenacity of the defensive end gave opposing ball handers fits, netting 2 steals a game. Jordan’s nose for the ball also led him to average over 6 rebounds per game – all while leading The J to a District 25-5A title. The best is yet to come…

OFFENSIVE POY: Norman Boyd (’19), McCallum

Boyd saved his best for last. The senior Knight forward averaged a whopping 21 points per game, while leading McCallum to a bi-district playoff appearance. His 8 rebounds a game put him among the district leaders, while dishing out 3 assist per game.

DEFENSIVE POY: Clinton Cooper (’19), Reagan

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Trace Young (’20), Dripping Springs

The viral sensation is just warming up. Trace chipped in double digit points (10.3 PPG), secured 5 boards and dished out over 4 assists per game. We expect Coach Swannick to put even more responsibility on the shoulders of Young as next season approaches – but expect to see some Trace on your social media timelines during off season. (PHOTO: Moses Leo, III)

Coach of the Year: Freddie Roland, LBJ

Another double digit district win total for Coach Roland, and another district title. Can we go ahead and honor the LBJ Gymnasium with his name sake and honor him while he is still coaching? We vote yet 🙂


  1. Josiyah Thorn (’19), Reagan
  2. Brian Batts (’19), LBJ
  3. Tristin Thomas (’21), Reagan
  4. Antwan McMillan (’20), LBJ
  5. Enzo Arnold (’19), Dripping Springs
  6. Jordan Mckinney (’20), Lockhart
  7. J’Shaun Johnson (’20), Travis
  8. Carloz Ramirez (’20), Crockett
  9. Michael Clark, Jr. (’20), Reagan
  10. Diamante Johnson (’19), Crokett


  1. Adam Romero (’19), Lockhart
  2. Xavier Phillips (’20), Dripping Springs
  3. JaRyl Peoples (’21), Crockett
  4. Nick Statz (’19), Dripping Springs
  5. Darius Lewis (’20), McCallum
  6. Roderick Roberts (’19), LBJ
  7. Devin Clark (’19), Lockhart
  8. Anthony Guyton (’19), LBJ
  9. Vontrey Harper (’19), Reagan
  10. Sam Werkenthin (’20), McCallum


  1. Takai Satberry (’20), McCallum
  2. Charlie Pecina (’21), McCallum
  3. Rob Wade (’21), McCallum
  4. Alejandro Garcia (’20), Crockett
  5. Matthew Abel (’19), Crockett
  6. Kyle Rioux, Dripping Springs
  7. Alema Louis (’19), Dripping Springs

If you have additions to the Honorable Mentions section – or see an error, please contact